Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Barbara Bowers, Chair
Professor School of Nursing
University of Wisconsin-Madison

Penny Cook, Vice Chair
Executive Director
Pioneer Network

Lisa Thomson
Chief Strategy and Marketing Officer
Pathway Health Services

Theresa Schmidt, Secretary
Discern Health

Chris Laxton, Immediate Past Chair
Executive Director
IAMDA – Dedicated to Long Term Care Medicine™

Jay Sackman, Past Chair
Individual Member

Members at Large

Barbara Bowers
Helen Denne Schulte Professor/ Associate Dean for Research, University of Wisconsin Madison
AANNET – American Academy of Nursing

Penny Cooke
Executive Director
Pioneer Network

Jodi Eyigor
Director, Nursing Home Quality & Policy

Diane Flynn
VP Strategy And Institutional Products
Optum Complex Care Management

David Gifford, MD
Senior Vice President, Quality & Regulatory Affairs
AHCA - American Health Care Association

Gregory Johnson
Chief Medical Officer
The Evangelical Good Samaritan Society

Bill McGinley
The American College of Health Care Administrators

Lisa Thomson
Chief Strategy and Marketing Officer
Pathway Health Services

Legacy of Leaders

In addition to its diverse membership, Advancing Excellence has a legacy of active and engaged leadership. Board chairs have included:

2006 – 2009

Larry Minnix, former President & CEO, LeadingAge

2009 – 2012

Mary Jane Koren, MD, MPH, former Vice President of Delivery System Reform, The Commonwealth Fund

2012 – 2014

David Gifford, Senior Vice President, Quality & Regulatory Affairs, American Health Care Association

Cheryl Phillips, Senior Vice President, Public Policy & Advocacy, LeadingAge

2014 – 2016

Beverley Laubert, Ohio State LTC Ombudsman; past-president, National Association of State LTC Ombudsman Programs

2016 – present

Jay Sackman, Representative, The New Jewish Home

Send Us an Email

Captcha Code